Coldplay – Mylo Xyloto (Album)


I’m a casual Coldplay fan, meaning that when they have an album out, I listen to it, even if I’m not necessarily passionate about the band. They have incredible singles, there’s not many songs that get me like Fix You does and they are good live, however I don’t over play their music. Perhaps that’s why my expectations are never too high or too low when it comes to them, I would always hope they would release something as good as Fix You, The Scientist or Clocks, and it’s never quite the same, but they still manage to please me.

When Every Teardrop is a Waterfall came out, however, it did not please me. Perhaps it is because I immediately identified the sampled song and therefore associated certain ideas and images to it that are not necessarily good. The song is much more than the sample, yet not reaching the emotion that, I assume, tried to.

Paradise, however, got me. The beginning reminds me to Get Out of My Way by Kylie Minogue, but that’s just me and my chord associations. Paradise does aspire to be something big, at least bigger than Every Teardrop is a Waterfall, and it reaches destination.

After listening to Paradise, the rest of the album kinda falls flat on its face, because there’s nothing on it as good as. And something funny happens, I must have listened to the album in full at least 5 or 6 times, yet I am still unable to hum to any track. I know I like Charlie Brown, Hurts Like Heaven, Up In Flames and Princess of China, but none of those melodies get stuck in my head. Every Teardrop is a Waterfall may not be a very good song, but it didn’t have that problem, at least. It got stuck, for better or for worse, but it did.

There’s nothing astoundingly bad on the album, just like nothing is astoundingly good, it’s simply a whole lot of middle. It is a good album to have playing in the background, all songs are listenable, yet none make you want to listen to them again, aside from Paradise.

Conclusion? The non-existent catchiness is definitely a problem, so is the repetition of the same “ooh-ooohs” trick that Coldplay use in so many songs.

6/10

Listen to: Paradise, Princess of China, Charlie Brown

 

One thought on “Coldplay – Mylo Xyloto (Album)

Leave a Reply

