The Jukepop’s Comeback Recap


As every great pop star around, this blog has been on a hiatus for the past month due to exams sucking the life and soul out of me like a dementor. But every pop star hiatus is followed by a great comeback, so here’s The Jukepop’s Comeback Recap, which is a way to post the musical highlights of the past few weeks.

 

1. Azealia Banks

Azealia Banks has been recently signed to Universal, chosing Polydor as her UK label. Her song 212 is frenetic and addictive, one of my favourites in a while. She is full of potential and will be one to watch out from now on.

2. Avicii

The key of this song is the use of Etta James’ Something’s Got A Hold On Me as the hook. This use is VASTLY superior to the one Flo Rida gives it on his song Good Feeling.

3. Donkeyboy

City Boy is a catchy electro pop song that has the best synth in the entire world. Honestly. Also, it reminds me to Girls Aloud’s Love Is Pain.

4. Kelly Clarkson

I initially became obsessed with Stronger before it was made a single because it was background music for a Desperate Housewives advert on a tv channel here. I had missed an empowering song like this.

5. Tove Styrke

Yet another electro pop princess from Sweden, once I listened to the chorus of Call My Name the first time I could not stop singing it.

6. Little Boots

Shake makes me wanna shake.

7. Lana Del Rey

Lana has been the center of the critics, positive and negative, ever since her performance in Saturday Night Live. Personally, I love her, and Summertime Sadness is one of my favourite song from her album.

8. Katy Perry

The acoustic version of The One That Got Away is so lovely it breaks my heart.

9. Lea Michele 

Glee’s arrangement of Usher’s song Without You, with Lea Michele doing vocals, is heartbreaking and beautiful.

Leave a Reply

