Azealia, One Direction, Tegan and Sara, Xtina and more


Hi readers!

Sorry for the lack of updates lately but Girls Aloud’s single (see previous post) left me speechless and unable to function properly all this time.

I’m just joking. (Kinda).

This month I became a writer for WhatCulture and here’s what I’ve written so far:

I also got this on the HuffPo:

So, go read those and perhaps comment, if you fancy! I’d appreciate it.

——–

Self promotion aside, I’ve been neglecting this blog and I’m sorry. So here’s a few good tracks and a few not-so-good tracks that have ‘happened’ and that I didn’t write about.

Tegan and Sara – I’m Not Your Hero

Initially I rated this song as second best to ‘Closer’, but I might love it more, actually. It’s a bit moodier but the chorus is really big and the electronic production fits like a glove.

Rihanna – Diamonds

I find myself unable to support Rihanna’s ‘stoner’ phase in which she glorifies drugs using some whack symbology, and I would very much like her to stop releasing albums like a crazy person and actually sit back and come up with something that feels like it’s been created with care. But the truth is I quite like ‘Diamonds’, though at this point I don’t know if it’s because it’s good or because it’s Rihanna.

Azealia Banks – Atlantis

Azealia goes seapunk with her new video, an ode to the green screen and graphics generated by a Windows 95 computer. But the song is quite catchy.

Christina Aguilera – Blank Page

Christina’s new album ‘Lotus’ is out now, and though it isn’t her best (at least is better than Bionic though) there are some great ballads in it. ‘Blank Page’ is not just the best ballad, it is the best song of the album.

Taylor Swift – 22

Anyone who follows me on Twitter knows at this point what I think about Taylor Swift. I listened to her album last week because I don’t like to feel like I’m complaining without knowing and because it’s selling so much, I questioned whether I was missing something. Well I wasn’t:  the less offending song in Taylor Swift’s album is ’22’, a song she dedicates to her friends Dianna Agron and Selena Gomez. It’s the only song in the album that isn’t boy crazy, so I was like, ‘hmm, interesting’. But then she wanted to make sure that ’22’, a song about girls having fun, isn’t mistaken by feminism, and then I realized she just doesn’t know what feminism is on the first place. And it made me sad. 😦

One Direction – Little Things

The lyrics are quite atrocious, the melody makes it an Ed Sheeran song more than a One Direction one, but ‘Little Things’ is such a perfect opportunity for intimate performances that allow the boys to shine through their vocal harmonies and make the fans die with love that it deserves a mention.

Leave a Reply

